Singapore Government
SLA Logo
Home > News/Publications > Press Releases > Latest > Appointment of new Chairman and new Members of the Singapore Land Authority
Print Friendly
Press Releases

Press Release

Appointment of new Chairman and new Members of the Singapore Land Authority

  1. The Minister for Law has appointed Mr Greg Seow as the new Chairman of the Singapore Land Authority (SLA) for a two-year term starting 1 June 2006. Mr Seow, who is also Chairman of the Investment Management Association of Singapore, has been SLA’s Deputy Chairman since last year and a Member of the Authority since its formation on 1 June 2001. [Mr Seow’s bio-data is at Annex A ].

  2. Mr Seow takes over from Mr Liew Heng San, who has been SLA’s Chairman since it was formed. Mr Liew is the Chief Executive Officer of the CPF Board. SLA would like to record its appreciation to Mr Liew for his sterling leadership of SLA since its inception. Mr Liew has led and guided SLA in fulfilling its mission, and helped SLA establish a firm footing. During his tenure, SLA introduced a number of pro-enterprise initiatives such as the “RentDirect” scheme, the “Ideas” scheme for innovative suggestions on land use in tenders, as well as pro-community initiatives including opening up 480 hectares of State land for community and recreational use. These efforts are in line with SLA’s mission to optimise our land resource for the economic and social development of Singapore.

  3. Three new Members have also been appointed for a term of two years from 1 June 2006. They are: Mr Yap Kim Wah, 57, Senior Vice President of Singapore Airlines; Mr Latiff Ibrahim, 46, Partner, Harry Elias Partnership (a firm of advocates and solicitors); and Ms Koh Lin-Net, 36, Director in charge of Arts and Heritage Development, Ministry of Information, Communications and the Arts.

  4. The rest of the Authority’s Members are:

    1. Dr Steven Choo, Property Consultant;

    2. Mr Raymond Woo, Principal Architect, Raymond Woo & Associates;

    3. Mr Stanley George Tebbe; Retired (formerly Regional Director, ExxonMobil Chemical Asia Pacific); and

    4. Mr Venkatachalam Krishnakumar, Senior Advisor, McKinsey and Company, Singapore.

    5. Mr Ravi Kumar Vijayaraghavan, Vice President, Bain & Co, South East Asia;

    6. Mr Jimmy Tay Lye Soon, Chief Executive Officer, Hill & Knowlton, South-east Asia & Senior Vice President of its Asia Pacific Office;

    7. Mr Ong Chong Tee, Deputy Managing Director of Monetary Policy, Research and Investment Group, Monetary Authority of Singapore; and

    8. BG (NS) Lam Joon Khoi, Chief Executive, SLA.

  5. SLA would also like to record its appreciation for the outstanding service rendered by its retiring Authority Members:

    1. Dr Amy Khor Lean Suan, Mayor, South West District;

    2. Senior Counsel Mr Leslie Chew Kwee Hoe, Partner, Gurbani & Co; and

    3. Mr Timothy Teo Lai Wah, Director of Foreign Exchange, Government of Singapore Investment Corporation.

Issued by:
Singapore Land Authority
30 May 2006

Best viewed using IE6.0 & above with 1024 X 768 pixel resolution